BREAKING NEWS: New York, New Jersey and Connecticut announce mandatory 14-day quarantine for people coming from states with high coronavirus numbers.

Anyone who travels to New York, New Jersey and Connecticut from states that are still seeing high coronavirus numbers will have to quarantine for 14 days.

The governors of each states announced the decision on Wednesday.

The quarantine applies to any state with infection rate of 10 infections per 100,000 people on a seven day rolling average or 10 percent of the total population testing positive.

The states that currently applies to are Alabama, Arkansas, Arizona, Florida, North Carolina, South Carolina, Washington, Utah and Texas.

It will go into effect in New York at midnight and anyone caught violating it faces fines of up to $10,000.

‘Get on a flight fast,’ New York Gov. Andrew Cuomo said on Wednesday as he announced the quarantine.

If a person is caught having traveled to New York from one of the high risk states and they are not quarantining, they can be fined $2,000.

If they are caught a second time, the fine is $5,000 and if they are found to have ’caused harm’, they face a fine of $10,000.

Cuomo said New York’s slow reopening plan had been ‘vindicated’ by the fact its numbers continue to decrease while other states are seeing spikes.

Forcing people to quarantine from other, high risk states, he said, was ‘just common sense’.

‘We do not want the virus coming in on a plane again,’ he said.

For the last three days, the average number of people dying across the state was 17. At its worst in April, the number was nearly 900.

There are now 1,071 people in the hospital with COVID-19. At the height of the pandemic, that number was more than 18,000.

Twenty-seven states are still seeing rising coronavirus case numbers and rising hospitalization numbers.

Seven states hit their highest coronavirus hospitalizations this week……  Read more

Sharing is caring!